Confirmation means that the transaction has been processed by the network and is highly unlikely to be reversed. Transactions receive a confirmation when they are included in a block and then for each subsequent block. Even a single confirmation can be considered secure for low-value transactions.
It usually takes about 20 minutes to finish a transaction. You’ll have a progress bar under your transaction to inform you about your transaction status.